In Śivasahasranāmastotra (Sivasahasranamastotra), the term Āditya(Aditya) is uttered twice as a name for God Śiva. In the first case, the term Āditya is found to be place between two other names, ‘Bhaga’ and Aṁśu (Amsu). They are also among the twelve Āditya born of the womb of Aditi, sired by Kaśyapa. It is said that they are two major associates of Āditya. Mahādeva is known as the Āditya who resides between Bhaga and Āṁśu, his two associates. Nīlakaṇṭha (Nilakantha), the commentator, citing the Brāhmaṇa (Brahmana)-text, has referred to the Āditya who stays between Bhaga and Aṁśu–
ādityastatsahacārī bhagāparanāmā devaḥ
tasyāṁ aṁśusca bhagaścājāyetāmiti brāhmaṇāt.
Āditya has been mentioned for the second time, along with the other gods such as the Vasu. Here Āditya has been used in the sense of the son of Aditi —
Āditya iti aditeḥ putra.
God Śiva is referred to as Āditya, as being the true self-manifestation of all the distinguished gods born of the womb of Aditi and sired by Kaśyapa (Kasyapa), such as Indra, Sūrya (Surya) and even the youngest Āditya — Vāmana (Vamana), the incarnation of God Viṣṇu. It is to be noted in this context that in Śāntiparva (Santiparva) of Mahābhārata (Mahabharata), in the Śivasahasranāma-stotra (Sivasahasranamastotra; The Hymn of the Thousand names of Siva) uttered by Dakṣa (Daksha), Śiva is referred to as Āditya. Dakṣa says –Just as the cows reside in the grazing field, all the gods reside in thy body. In thee, I behold Soma (Candra), Agni, Jaleśvara (Jaleswara; the Ruler of Waters or Varuṇa), Āditya, Viṣṇu, Brahmā (Brahma) and Vṛhaspati (Vrihaspati)–
mūrtau hi te mahāmūrte samudrāmvara sannibha
sarvā vai devatā hyasmin gāvo goṣṭha ivāsate.
bhavaccharīre paśyāmi somamagniṁ jaleśvaram
ādityamatha vai viṣṇuṁ brahmāṇañca vṛhaspatim.
Śiva is referred to as mahāmūrti, since he holds all other gods in his own body. While explaining these two śloka (sloka; verse), the commentator Nīlakaṇṭha (Nilakantha) has brought in the reference of Śiva’s aṣṭamūrti. Bhūmi (Bhumi, the Earth) Amvu (Water), Vanhi (Fire), Vāyu (Vayu; Air), Ākāśa (Akasa; Ether), Sūrya (Surya; the Sun), Candra (Chandra; the Moon) and Yajamāna (Yajamana; one for whom yajana or ritual worship is performed) — these are conceptualised as the eight manifestations of Mahādeva (Mahadeva). He manifests the Sun in his own body — in this sense, Mahādeva is hailed as Āditya.